Fluctuations in Lake Levels - types

Fluctuations in water levels in non-tidal areas are the result of several natural factors and may also be influenced by human activities. These factors operate on a time-scale that varies from hours to years. The levels of the Great Lakes depend on their storage capacity, outflow characteristics of the outlet channels, operating procedures of the regulatory structures, and the amount of water supply received by each lake. The primary natural factors affecting lake levels include precipitation on the lakes, run-off from the drainage basin, evaporation from the lake surface, inflow from upstream lakes, and outflow to the downstream lakes. Man-made factors include diversions into or out of the basin, consumption of water, dredging of outlet channels and the regulation of outflows.

There are three types of water level fluctuations on the Great Lakes:

long-term (multi-year)

seasonal (one-year)

short-period (from a less than an hour to several days)

Wind generated waves are superimposed on all three categories of water-level fluctuations.

Long-term

These fluctuations result from persistent low or high net basin supplies. They result in extremely low levels such as were recorded on some lakes in 1926, the mid-1930s and mid-1960s, or in extremely high levels such as in 1952, 1973 and 1985-86. More than a century of records in the Great Lakes basin indicate no regular, predictable cycle. The intervals between periods of high and low levels and the length of such periods can vary widely and erratically over a number of years, and only some of the lakes may be affected. The maximum recorded range of monthly water-levels, from extreme high to extreme low, have varied from 1.2 metres for Lake Superior to over 1.8 metres for the other lakes. The ranges of levels on Lakes Michigan-Huron, Erie and Ontario reflect not only the fluctuation in supplies from their own basins, but also the fluctuations of the inflow from upstream lakes.

A plot of average annual water level recorded on each of the Great Lakes for the period 1918 to 2006.

netmeanSup
netmeanHur
netmeanStC
netmeanEri
netmeanOnt

Seasonal

These fluctuations of the Great Lakes levels reflect the annual hydrologic cycle. This is characterized by higher net basin supplies during the spring and early summer and lower net basin supplies during the remainder of the year. The maximum lake level usually occurs in June on Lakes Ontario and Erie, in July on Lakes Michigan-Huron, and in August on Lake Superior. The minimum lake level usually occurs in December on Lake Ontario, in February on Lakes Erie and Michigan-Huron, and in March on Lake Superior. Based on the monthly average water levels, the magnitudes of seasonal fluctuations are quite small, averaging about 0.4 metres on Lakes Superior, Michigan and Huron, about 0.5 metres on Lake Erie, and about 0.6 metres on Lake Ontario. However, in any one season it has varied from less than 0.2 metres to more than 0.6 metres on the upper lakes, from less than 0.3 metres to more than 0.8 metres on Lake Erie and from 0.22 metres to 1.10 metres on Lake Ontario.

A plot of the average (for the period 1918 to 2000 ) monthly mean water level shows the features mentioned above for each of the Great Lakes.

MMGraph

Short-period

TThese fluctuations, lasting from a less than an hour to several days, are caused by meteorological conditions. The effect of wind and differences in barometric pressure over the lake surface create temporary imbalances in the water level at various locations. Storm surges are largest at the ends of an elongated basin, particularly when the long axis of the basin is aligned with the wind. In deep lakes such as Lake Ontario, the surge of water level rarely exceeds 0.5 metre, but in shallow Lake Erie, water-level differences from one end of the lake to the other of more than 5 metres have been observed. Although the range of fluctuations may be large, there are only minor changes in the volume of water in the lake. A seiche is the free oscillation of water in a closed or semi-closed basin; it is frequently observed in harbours, bays, lakes and in almost any distinct basin of moderate size.

A plot of hourly water level for three days, from December 11 to 13, 2000, at six gauging stations on the north shore of Lake Erie shows the water level fluctuations caused by storms. The Bar Point gauge is located at the mouth of the Detroit River, Kingsville is in the western basin, Erieau and Port Stanley are in the central basin, Port Dover and Port Colborne are in the eastern basin.

img

Waves

Superimposed on all three categories of water-level fluctuations are wind-induced waves. Surface waves can be a hazard to navigation and are also the main cause of shore erosion. Surface waves start small, but as they travel more or less downwind, the waves grow in height, become longer and move faster. Although the Great Lakes are large, the fetches they present to the winds ensure that the waves are under-developed (except in light winds) and tend to be steeper. Research has determined the following characteristics of waves on the Great Lakes:

  1. the closed boundaries effectively eliminate "swell" (long waves propagating from distant storms);
  2. when the fetch varies substantially about the wind direction, the largest waves tend to diverge from the wind direction towards the long-fetch direction;
  3. very under-developed waves move faster than fully-developed waves of the same length;
  4. the longest waves in an undeveloped sea are much steeper than their fully-developed counterparts.

[source for this information: "Thermal Structure and Circulation in the Great Lakes", F. M. Boyce et al, Atmosphere-Oceans, 27 (4) 1989, 607-642].

Fisheries and Oceans Canada * Pêches et Océans Canada Canada
Français CHS HQ Water Levels Canada Site
CHS crest        Service Hydrographique du Canada
      Région du Centre et de l'Arctique

Types de fluctuation du niveau des lacs



Les fluctuations de niveau d'eau dans les zones non soumises aux marées tiennent à différents facteurs naturels et peuvent également dépendre des activités humaines. Ces facteurs s'exercent à une échelle temporelle qui se mesure parfois en heures et parfois en années. Le niveau des Grands Lacs dépend de leur capacité de stockage, du débit sortant, des procédures d'exploitation des ouvrages régulateurs et des apports de chacun des lacs. Les principaux facteurs naturels qui influent sur le niveau des lacs comprennent les précipitations directes, le ruissellement du bassin hydrographique, l'évaporation à la surface des lacs, les apports d'eau des lacs d'amont et le débit des émissaires qui alimentent les lacs d'aval. Les facteurs d'origine humaine englobent les dérivations qui apportent de l'eau au bassin ou en retirent, la consommation d'eau, le dragage des émissaires et la régulation du débit sortant.

Les Grands Lacs connaissent trois types de fluctuations de leur niveau d'eau, les fluctuations :

Á long terme (pluriannuelles)

Les fluctuations à long terme du niveau d'eau sont engendrées par un déficit ou un surplus persistant des apports d'eau. Ces phénomènes peuvent faire baisser l'eau à des niveaux extrêmement faibles, comme ceux qui ont été enregistrés dans certains lacs en 1926, au milieu des années 30 et au milieu des années 60, ou la porter à des niveaux très élevés, comme en 1952, 1973 et 1985-1986. Les données accumulées sur le bassin des Grands Lacs couvrent plus d'un siècle, mais ne mettent néanmoins en évidence aucun cycle régulier et prévisible. Les intervalles entre les périodes où les niveaux sont hauts et celles où ils sont bas ainsi que la durée de ces périodes peuvent varier fortement et irrégulièrement au fil d'un certain nombre d'années et ne toucher que certains des lacs. L'amplitude maximale des niveaux d'eau enregistrée dans un mois, c'est-à-dire la différence entre le niveau le plus faible et le niveau le plus haut, est comprise entre 1,2 mètre pour le lac Supérieur et plus de 1,8 mètre pour les autres lacs. Les amplitudes de changement de niveau dans les lacs Michigan, Huron, Érié et Ontario sont le reflet non seulement de la fluctuation des apports de leur propre bassin, mais aussi des variations du débit qui alimente les lacs d'amont.

Représentation graphique du niveau d'eau annuel moyen pour chacun des Grands Lacs entre 1918 et 2006.






Saisonnières (à l'intérieur d'une année)

Les fluctuations saisonnières du niveau des Grands Lacs tiennent à leur cycle hydrologique annuel. Celui-ci se caractérise par des apports nets plus importants dans le bassin au printemps et au début de l'été et des apports nets plus faibles le reste de l'année. L'eau atteint habituellement son niveau le plus haut en juin dans les lacs Ontario et Érié, en juillet dans les lacs Michigan et Huron et en août dans le lac Supérieur. L'eau trouve normalement son niveau minimum en décembre dans le lac Ontario, en février dans les lacs Érié, Michigan et Huron et en mars dans le lac Supérieur. Les moyennes mensuelles de niveau d'eau donnent à penser que l'amplitude des fluctuations saisonnières est relativement faible, puisque sa moyenne est d'environ 0,4 mètre pour les lacs Supérieur, Michigan et Huron, d'environ 0,5 mètre pour le lac Érié et de quelque 0,6 mètre pour le lac Ontario. Toutefois, au cours d'une saison donnée, elle peut fluctuer entre -0,2 mètre et plus de 0,6 mètre pour les lacs d'amont, entre -0,3 mètre et plus de 0,8 mètre pour le lac Érié et entre 0,22 mètre et 1,10 mètre pour le lac Ontario.

Représentation graphique du niveau d'eau mensuel moyen (entre 1918 et 2000) montrant les caractéristiques décrites ci-dessus pour chacun des Grands Lacs.


Á court terme (de moins d'une heure plusieurs jours)

Les fluctuations à court terme du niveau d'eau, celles qui durent de moins d'une heure à plusieurs jours, sont produites par des phénomènes météorologiques. Le vent et les différences de pression barométrique à la surface d'un lac peuvent en effet créer des écarts de niveau d'eau temporaires en différents endroits. Les ondes de tempête sont particulièrement fortes aux extrémités d'un bassin allongé, surtout lorsque l'axe longitudinal du bassin est dans le sens du vent. Dans les lacs profonds, comme le lac Ontario, l'élévation rapide du niveau d'eau dépasse rarement 0,5 mètre, mais dans le lac Érié, qui est peu profond, des différences de niveau d'eau de plus de 5 mètres ont été observées entre un bout du lac et l'autre. Même si l'amplitude des fluctuations peut être forte, le volume d'eau que contient le lac ne change que très peu. Une seiche est une oscillation de la masse d'eau d'un bassin fermé ou semi-fermé; elle est fréquemment observée dans les ports, les baies, les lacs et pratiquement n'importe quel bassin distinct de taille restreinte.

Représentation graphique de l'évolution d'heure en heure du niveau d'eau durant trois jours, du 11 au 13 décembre 2000, à six stations limnimétriques de la rive nord du Lac Érié montrant les fluctuations de niveau d'eau occasionnées par des tempêtes. La station de jaugeage de Bar Point est située à l'embouchure de la rivière de Détroit, celle de Kingsville dans le bassin ouest, celle d'Erieau et de Port Stanley dans le bassin central, celle de Port Dover et de Port Colborne dans le bassin est. 


Les vagues générées par le vent 

Les vagues engendrées par le vent viennent superposer leur effet aux fluctuations du niveau de l'eau des trois catégories. Les ondes de surface peuvent constituer un danger pour la navigation et elles constituent la cause principale de l'érosion des rives. Elles commencent petites mais, à mesure qu'elles descendent plus ou moins dans le lit du vent, elles prennent de la hauteur, s'allongent et accélèrent. Même si les Grands Lacs sont vastes, l'aire de génération de la houle (fetch) qu'ils offrent aux vents fait que les ondes y sont peu développées (sauf par vent faible) et ont tendance à être plus abruptes. Les recherches effectuées ont permis de déterminer que les ondes présentent les caractéristiques suivantes dans les Grands Lacs :
· le fait qu'il s'agisse de bassins fermés élimine en pratique la houle (les vagues longues engendrées par des tempêtes soufflant en des lieux éloignés);
· lorsque le fetch est dans un axe substantiellement différent de la direction du vent, les vagues les plus hautes ont tendance à s'éloigner de la direction du vent pour adopter l'orientation de la plus grande zone de fetch;
· les ondes très peu développées voyagent plus vite que les ondes pleinement développées de même longueur; · les ondes les plus longues d'une mer peu formée ont une pente beaucoup plus abrupte que celles qui se forment dans les eaux où le vent exerce toute son influence.

[Source de l'information :  "Thermal Structure and Circulation in the Great Lakes" , F.M. Boyce et al, Atmosphere-Oceans, 27 (4) 1989, p. 607 à 642].


mise á jour: 07/26/2007

Avis Important


Previous Page

English | Site du Canada
  Niveaux de l'eau | SHC RNC